Why Everyone Should Travel The World Solo Once In Their Life

You stop playing the victim

Michael Lim
4 min readMay 27, 2024
The author is catching flights, not feelings.

Travel has changed my life.

It’s cliche to say. But it’s a cliche for a reason. It’s impossible for travel not to change you in some way. Whether that’s your thinking or through experience.

Here’s why everyone should travel the world solo…

I can never visit a country twice.

Why? Because:

  1. I’ve changed since the last time I’ve visited.
  2. The country has changed.

I’ve been to Singapore more than ten times in my life. I was born there and still have loads of family living there, but I’ve never experienced the country the same way.

I go back every 3–6 months.

My growth curve every month means that I’m a completely different person every 90 days. Singapore also changes, so I interact with the world and environment in different ways.

Every time I go back, I realize how much I’ve changed.

I’m about to leave for Singapore next week. The last time I was there I was October 2023. Since then, I’ve grown my business income and Medium by almost 10x.

--

--

Michael Lim

I help solopreneurs add $2-5k to their one-person business through my Limitless Writing System™ | Start here -> https://michaellim.ck.page/crashcourse 🚀